top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMolly

Ikea "Alex" Desk-Drab to Dreamy

When it comes to any DIY, the power of gold spray paint never ceases to amaze me. As soon as #WFH became a thing, I knew I needed to make my workspace both fun and functional and what better way to do that then to combine two DIY staples, a can of gold spray paint and an Ikea piece that is just begging to be turned into my latest #IkeaHack?


The Materials

This #IkeaHack is one of the best ROIs in terms of time and money! This is a quick and inexpensive flip and really makes a huge difference!


In order to complete this DIY you will need the following materials:

  • 1 Ikea Alex Desk-$149 (here)

  • 1 can of Rust-Oleum Gold Spray Paint-$4.18 (here)

  • 2 Drawer Pulls-$1.65/each (here)

I decided to buy the Ikea Alex Desk in white, however it is offered in 5 colors and I think any of them would look great (especially Navy---I love a good Navy & Gold combo!)


The Hack

Prior to assembling the desk, take every metal piece (the base/legs of the desk) outside and spray paint them all gold. There are so many amazing & fun drawer pulls/handles offered at retailers but if you decide to buy a simple one that you would like to spray paint, include them in this process. Make sure to cover all the metal pieces completely and evenly and let them dry for at least one hour.


Once the metal pieces are completely dry, assemble the desk per the included assembly instructions. I found this desk to be relatively easy to assemble compared to many Ikea pieces.


Lastly, attach the drawer pulls/handles to the center of each drawer and then take a step back and admire your fun and functional new desk!


Finishing Touches

I decided to finish off my desk with some decorative accessories from HomeGoods. I decided to infuse a pop of color with a pink floral (love a good pink & gold combo!) and an assortment of gold accent pieces.


Overall, this hack took 2.5 hours and quickly and inexpensively turned this desk from Drab to Dreamy!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page